OntoTip · Tutorials

OntoTips: A series of assorted ontology development guidelines

I am planning a series of blog posts describing some general tips I have found useful in working with groups developing biological ontologies. These are not intended to be rigid rules enforced by ontological high priests; they are intended to provide empirically backed  assistance to ontology developers of different levels of abilities, based on lessons learned in the trenches. I’m going to attempt to stay away from both hand-waving abstraction and platitudinous obvious truths, and focus on concrete practical examples of utility to ontology developers. I also hope to generate constructive and interesting discussion around some of the more controversial recommendations.

Screen Shot 2019-03-09 at 1.28.47 PM

The following is a list of tips I intended to cover. I will add hyperlinks as I write each individual tip. I’m not sure when I will finish writing all articles so apologies for any teasers.